Library Commission

The Library Commission is composed of 5 representatives, one from each electoral district in the County. The County Librarian serves as adviser to the Commission. The main function of this body is to "inform and advise the Board of Supervisors on matters relating to operations of the County Library system." During quarterly meetings, Library staff inform the Commission of activities and concerns in Markleeville and Bear Valley. Members of the public are encouraged to attend meetings and to contact their District Commissioner with any Library-related questions.


  • Quarterly
  • 1:30 p.m. @ the Markleeville Library
  • 270 Laramie Street
    Markleeville, CA 96120
  • 367 Creekside Drive (Via Telephone)

Bear Valley, CA 95223

District Commissioners

  • District 1 - Sharon Osgood (Chair) 530-694-2132
  • District 2 - Ginger Craik (Vice-Chair) 530-694-2267
  • District 3 - Stacey James 530-694-2477
  • District 4 - Jema Kimmel 209-753-2321
  • District 5 - Susan Raddach (Secretary) 530-694-1470

Please refer to the Bylaws for additional functions of the Library Commission